HSailorMoon's Blog

Busy few weeks 1 of 4

Posted on: November 6, 2010

I have had a busy several weeks that is for sure. Where to even begin, it feels like a long time ago.

First off I guess, I was hired to do some contractor work, for a gaming company, to be part of a focus group. Jimmy found this job posting and recommended we (he and I) do it together, because ‘It would be fun!’…. yeah I remember those words. So I end up getting the call to do it and I pitch them to have my boyfriend and my brother play with me (they both applied) and the three of us get into the focus group. Awesome.

It is basically a Korean MMO Gaming company, wanting to see if they can make it here in America, so they wanted our feedback of the game. Part of the agreement was to have us play the game to certain levels in the time given and if we reached the higher level we would get extra money. Sounded simple enough, we all play MMO’s via World of Warcraft. First game, two weeks, 53 hours put into it (they asked about 20 min a week)… torture! I ended up knitting while playing this game… there was a lot of down time. It was also impossible to obtain the first level requirement in the time given… so frustrating. They decide to change the rules about that level requirement this game (they did not realize how grueling it was to level).

Second game, two weeks, 73 hours put into it, we were able to reach the first level requirement…. in 70 hours! It was only possible because my brother and I played together the entire time to help each other and then we also had Jimmy helping for a portion of the time as well. I picked the tough armor class and had to literally carry my brother and Jimmy through this game. Soooooooo frustrating.

This is what I knitted on, while playing this game… (Rav Link: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/HSailorMoon/tofutsie-cowl )

CIMG0105.jpg

I got a lot of progress done. In the second game, I read half of a book (over 150 pages) while playing. These games were not the most mind-taxing as others I enjoy.

In the end we were all happy to have it be done with and turned out, that the company gave all three of us the full/extra amount of payment for our participation (I assume for our hours put in, because they were expecting 40 hours for each game to reach the first requirement… hahha didn’t happen). In our surveys, none of us would play these games… EVER! They are a free to play game, which is hard to find a decent one… these two are not it. It was an interesting process though and we made one friend from the focus group out of it.

Leave a Reply

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

2015-11-09_11-43-24

Blizzcon 2015

Blizzcon 2015

Blizzcon 2015

More Photos
